Outlying Islands (Lamma, Cheung Chau and Peng Chau)

Lantau Island, Hong Kong

How do I get there?

  • Ferry services from Central Ferry Piers

Where is it? 

There are 263 islands in Hong Kong, the vast majority of which are located within the New Territories. Significant numbers of them are located in Islands District in the south and southwest, Sai Kung District in the southeast and Tai Po District and North District in the northeast. The term outlying is not strictly defined and in some cases islands very close to Hong Kong Island and mainland China are not included. Less convenient transportation meant that development came relatively late compared to other parts of Hong Kong, and many islands are still underdeveloped. Many of the outlying islands are sparsely inhabited and remain largely rural. The three main islands that have gone through substantial developments, other than Lantau, are Peng Chau, Lamma and Cheung Chau.

Why live here? 

Residents are attracted to their rural charms and a rhythm of life that is altogether reminiscent of an older Hong Kong. There are scattered village houses amongst rich greenery. On these islands there are plenty of local restaurants and shops, which creates an atmosphere that has not changed much for decades.

Recommended activities:

Sightseeing, eating, hiking, swimming, beach activities

One thing you might not know…

The Cheung Chau Bun Festival is an internationally-famous celebration, with lion dances, “bun tower” climbing competitions and parades.